Leadership - Wes Smith

Wes Smith

President, Mayer Electric Supply

Wes Smith currently serves as President & CEO of Mayer Electric Supply. A Mayer associate since 1987, he knows the inner workings of the company. Wes began as a warehouse associate and moved into internal auditing and then to quality assurance. He became Mayer’s first CIO in 2000, then Executive Vice President & COO in 2005 before his current appointment as President in 2008. In addition to being part of Mayer’s Leadership Team, he also serves on many industry boards and councils. He was Chairman of the National Association of Electrical Distributors from 2020 to 2022 and currently serves on the Board as Past-Chair. Wes is also a past Chairman of the Industry Data Exchange Association (IDEA) and currently serves as the NAED observer to IDEA, attending all IDEA Board meetings on behalf of NAED.

Wes was named as a finalist for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award in 2016. He was awarded the Distinguished Distributor Service Award by the National Association of Electrical Distributors in 2014. Wes served as a Board member of the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s National Alumni Society for nine years and as President in 2015. Wes led the Athletics Assessment Task Force for UAB in 2015, resulting in the return of football to UAB. In 2006 Wes was named The Outstanding Alumnus of the UAB School of Business and as the Volunteer of the Year in 2015.

Our Companies